You are here

The Bio Mom and the Bio Dad have all the say and my thoughts don't matter

bekah71's picture

This is my first time on here. I am here because I'm frustrated, at the moment, though this is minor compared to other Step Parent issues that have come up. Still...
It's about being left out.
I recently found out from my husband that he and his ex-wife decided to let "our" 15 year old daughter get her tragus pierced (the part of the ear that covers the ear canal. We just allowed her to get her nose pierced, this past winter. To some this may be no big thing, but I am not one for lots of alternative body piercings. Back to the point, by the time I heard that it was happening, it was a done deal. Kory just brought it up that she was going with her mom to get it done and that was news to me. I asked my husband about it and he said it just happened; that it wasn't much of a discussion. And ironically, that neither him nor his ex-wife really wanted Kory to get it done, but they both reluctantly agreed. I told him that I was surprised by the announcement and had no idea. I also told him that I believe that I should have a voice in such matters. After all, if I am their full-time mother figure and have to raise them and discipline and take their disrespect, all the things that a biological parent does, then I deserve to be included. That's how I believe about it, anyway. My husband, being the good man he is, did admit that he didn't think about it and should have included me. It still frustrated me though.
I believe that Kory is too young for such a piercing. It would be better for her to wait and get that when she is an adult because she is still too young too know what she wants, all of the time. She needs to wait and sit on a decision like that and if she still wants it in a few years when she is an adult, then she can do it.