You are here

Neglected

Neglected's picture

This is my first time sharing this with total strangers, but I need to vent to people who are possibly going through the same situation or who can help me understand. So my husband and I just got married a month ago. He has two kids from two different mothers (double trouble right?) Anyway, his son is 10 and his daughter is 9. His son visits on the weekends, but his daughter lives with us most of the time. His son and I have generally always got along; however, his daughter has been a little harder to deal with.
Anyway, I can't help but feel neglected by her. I am there for her more than her mother. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, homework, shopping, soccer, dentist, sickness...you name it, i do it. But, I feel that everything between us fake. Well, not me being fake, but her. The way I feel.... to her..I'm just dad's wife who lives with them.
She's been feverish since Sunday. She missed school Monday, but we sent her back on Tuesday. Her dad left out of town on Thursday for a work trip till next week so she has been home with me. (of course her mother was MIA.) Anyway, I had to pick her up from school the other day cause she was getting feverish again. I took her to the clinic where we had to stay for 3 hours. Called her mom and advised her that her daughter was sick and her dad was out of town. Told her that I had to work later on that night and probably had to drop of daughter at grandmas house. Her mom said, "well, I have to go on a trip tomorrow morning (pleasure), so theres really no point of me picking her up right?" Whatever!!! When we came back home, she threw up all over the house. I didn't want to send her to grandma's like this so I told her I would not go to work and stay with her.
As she was lying on the couch, I offered to rub her stomach and head. While doing this, she was moaning and crying. I felt so bad for the poor thing. But, then she started crying out, "dadddddddddddd" and mommmmmmmmmmmm."