You are here

Help me please

stepmom927's picture

I am new here, and need advice/help etc. Let me start by telling you a bit about our family. My husband and I are newlyweds (1.5 months). He has a six year old boy who is spending the summer with us. He is a truly wonderful kiddo and I do love him a ton. However, he has recently been exhibiting behaviors that are scary and very concerning. He is a very active kid and has always been "busy." I am a teacher, so I usually do a good job at keeping him entertained and out of trouble. Recently, though, he has been getting really aggressive. He has hit my dog, my cats and me. He obviously has consequences when this happens, but nothing seems to be working. To make matters worse, he is overly anxious about going back to his mothers house. His father and I both know that there are some bad things going on in the house there, but dont know to what extent or what exactly has happened. We know that there has been some violence and my SS knows more about sex than any 6 year old should. We are waiting to hear back from a therapist but until we get him some help, I need advice. We have tried every thing: rewarding possitive behavior, ignoring little behaviors, sticker charts, time outs, yelling, taking things away etc. It is taking a toll on my marriage and we would fight for custody, yet know that unless there is something to prove, we will not win. HELP!! I feel like I am losing my mind.....

IMightBeWicked's picture