You are here

Talk with SKs?

Soymilk's picture

I'm new to StepTalk and have been browsing the forums for a few days. Here is my story (copied over from a reply to a thread on General Talk):

I met my two stepsons when they were 11 and 16 at my SO's nephew's wedding (now they are 14 and 19). They were initially sweet as pie (We chatted and I even danced with both of them, lots of fun!). Alas, when BM found out I was important enough that SO had introduced me (He had never introduced any of his other girlfriends to them before, not to mention I'm much younger), she whispered poisonous thoughts into their ears about me being the reason they weren't staying together. They had been separated for 2 years before I ever met him, and when I met him, she was living in a different state! He convinced her to move back to California when A) she could not find a job and Dirol he of course missed his boys after nearly a year of not having them.

It took quite some time to finalize the divorce because she was mentally unstable (claiming to be suicidal, who knows if it was true) and threatening to demand all kinds of ridiculous things in court (child support even though she makes more than he does, pension, etc.). He waited until the storm passed before filing, and it ended up working out better that way (joint custody, no alimony/child support, no pension will go to her when SO retires).