You are here

Just realized skids don't care about me

clc329's picture

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here. I'm 5 years into my 2nd marriage. Between the two of us we have 6 children ages 20 to 13. 3 are his & 3 are mine. The 20 y/o SD hasn't been to the house in over a year. That's ok with me because she caused alot of problems in our marriage. BM hates us with a passion so she is of no help whatsoever. Plus she is a psycho! So because of how BM is toward the skids I have tried to be a friend to them all these years(baking them cakes for bdays, listening to them, hanging out watching sports etc. SD(13) visits every other weekend and SS(18) drops in every once in awhile when he needs something (that's for another post).

So anyway it's taken me awhile but I am just realizing that these kids don't care at all about me. I raised my 3 children alone because bio dad ditched us so my life is very kid oriented and I enjoy being around them...until lately. I am really hurt by this realization and after reading some of the posts on here, I have decided to disengage. This will be one of the hardest things for me to do. I've tried to explain to my husband how much this hurts but he doesn't understand at all.

I'm trying very hard to stay focused on my children and this weekend will be the first time trying out my "disengagement". Thank you for listening/reading and if anyone has some advise on how to stay focused I sure would appreciate it Smile

Most Evil's picture

I am sure they do like you and don't wish you were dead or anything! and maybe there are things they keep from you re. that they do like you, or maybe they just take you for granted like their own mom? So we don't know for sure, or do you, why do you say this?

But regardless, don't let it get you down. Hang with us and tell us all about it, and you will feel better. Welcome!

"A lie told often enough becomes the truth." - Vladimir Lenin

TinaKay's picture