You are here

New here.......it wasn't supposed to be this hard

tiredof's picture

Hi, I'm new to this and I dont know what all the BM's and BS' are etc. I'm really just having a vent. I have 2 step sons, the eldest I get on with great, the youngest is almost 7 and I find him hard to deal with, not so much him, just how my hubby deals with his behaviour. I have been in my ss' life since he was 2, we had a great relationship when he was young, it has just become a struggle since I had my own children. His Mum is a good mum, not a great lady, but a great mum, she wants the very best for him and I cant fault her parenting. He visits our house every other weekend, and to be honest I have started dreading it, not because he is a really bad kid or rude to me or anything like that, he is a typical boisterous boy and has recently been diagnosed with ADD, he does have a spiteful streak, but I think most kids do. However he gets away with so much more than what our biological kids do, I give my kids time out etc if they are misbehaving, but my SS gets nothing and I'm not allowed to administer anyting because he says he doesn't want to visit anymore when I do. Now just as an example this weekend he has drawn on the blinds with marker pen, hubby just says our little 2 year old draws on walls all the time.....well yes she has once or twice....but first of all she is only 2 not 7, and second of all she had to help me clean it up as a consequence. What happens when SS does it?....nothing, who has to try and get it off?.....me! This one may seem petty but I tidied his room last week, and in 1 day you cant see his floor anymore....and who does hubby think should tidy it?......you guessed it...me! Now my ss knows right from wrong and I feel like there should be consequence if he chooses to do the wrong thing, I also think he should tidy his own room. If I try and talk to hubby he thinks I'm attacking his son, and I kind of feel like I am, but unintentionally, I'm just trying to get