You are here

Newbie and in need of advice :-)

larkin3's picture

First, I would like give you a little background information...

My husband and I have only been married two months. We've been together for over a year, and he has a 9 year old daughter. My Step daughter's mother and my husband have never been in a relationship, it was a one night stand, he didn't know he was her father until she was almost a year old.

I'm a preschool teacher, and my life revolves around kids at work, and now, I'm almost 7 months pregnant with our first child. I tell you this, because I have never felt such feelings for a child in my life, and I'm wondering what the heck is wrong with me?! I don't want her to be around, I'm a different person when she is...quiet, uninterested, and not very affectionate, to either of them. I dread when she comes to our house.

As I type this out, I wonder to myself when and why I started feeling this way about her, and my only answer is that I am not respected by either of them, when she's with us.

Yesterday was rough for me and I think that's why I came looking for a place that would hear my worries and help me to deal with them. Like I said before, I'm almost 7 months pregnant and I planned a trip to an amusement park for our family yesterday, even though I knew I wouldn't be riding any of the rides lol. I walked the place with them, with swollen feet, and a cramping belly because they were having a good time. I sat on a bench that was over loaded with other people to rest, when my husband came up to me and asked me to move because my step daughter's ankles hurt. I've have never felt so much hurt or anger towards either of them, until that point. Am I crazy and selfish?