You are here

Girlfriend's parents refuse to accept me

Incitatus64's picture

I have a son and my girlfriend has a son and a daughter. All of them are teenagers. She got divorced 5 years ago. Her ex husband and her have joint custody over the kids, but her kids mostly live with the ex husband. We are in our forties. I am a widower.

Her parents are my problem. They and her ex husband are friends, and they belong to a very strict Christian Protestant denomination that views divorce as a sin. As far as they are concerned, she sinned by divorcing the ex, and the only acceptable relationship would be for her and her ex to get back together again, because, in their eyes, any other relationship would come down to adultery - there is some passage somewhere in the book of Matthew that says as much.

Due to financial reasons (she's a teacher and doesn't earn much) she lives in a garden cottage on her parents' property. I am an engineer and do earn a good salary, and have my own home. She and I would like to move in together, which is, naturally, also a mortal sin in the eyes of her parents. Her parents therefore absolutely refuse to even acknowledge my existence, and will for example not even greet me when I go and pick her up at her house. They are also threatening to have her ex keep the children away from her, and having her censured by their church, to which she also belongs. I eventually wrote a letter her dad that surely God wants people to love one another and be good for one another, but he was having none of it.

I am pulling my hair out in frustration. I don't want to ruin her relationship with her parents, or cause issues with child custody, but really, I have big problems with old people interfering in a relationship due to their 17th century views.

JadeMom's picture

You're both in your forties. Her parents' opinion shouldn't even matter.