You are here

Is this normal??

spencersmommy's picture

Hi all.. I'm new here. I've been a stepmother for almost 2 years but we just became my stepdaughter's primary caregivers in March of this year- her mother basically gave us custody and just sees her on the weekends.

My issue is that I really can't stand my stepdaughter. She is a terrible brat, she acts like a baby (because she has a baby brother, I think), she refuses to leave her father alone for more than five minutes at a time. She is rough with my son (who is only 16 months old) and our pets. My husband does NOT discipline her at all. He stays home with the kids while I work as a teacher in a 2-year-old classroom at a child care center and lately he has been telling me how awful my stepdaughter (C) has been during the day. Yet when I discipline her, he gets mad at me and tells me I'm being childish.

I really don't know what to do. This kid is making my life hell. I just don't like her, as bad as that might be. Her mother used to do a decent job of keeping her in line but my hubby let her get away with everything when she was just visiting with us a few days a week. I told him that if he didn't start being more firm with her she would start to always be naughty, and I was right. Now she is just a terrible kid and my husband doesn't do anything about it.

I don't know what to do. My husband and I don't agree on parenting techniques it seems. Do you guys think counseling might help us? I don't know if he'd be willing to go... but I really am wishing we didn't have custody of C. I do act "nicer" to my son when he is rough because he is just a baby and doesn't truly understand. She will be 4 in a few months and knows that hitting, biting, pushing, etc HURTS and is not okay. My husband tells me I'm mean to her but not to our son. How can I make him understand that developmentally, our kids are at different stages and thus should be parented differently?

Thanks for any advice!

iqrt's picture