You are here

Need help quick! RE: SD school project

Mary Louise's picture

SD has a project due at school. She informed me this morning that her mom told her I would take or get some photos of her for this project that is due Friday. We have the kids here until Wed morning. I am a photographer - so I am flattered that her mom wanted to use one of my photos, however, no one told me about this until today. I asked SD about this project last week and she informed me that "mommy is going to help me do it" - and with that she put it all away and did no work on it until yesterday at her mom's. We are in the process of moving and have no materials left unpacked for her to work with, nor a printer to print any photos.

I went ahead and helped with the photos after explaining that in the future I need advanced notice. I had her tell her mom that she would have to print the photos as we do not have a printer here. (probably not the best idea to have the kids pass a message, but I panicked)

Here's the dilemma: Do I ask her mom for advanced notice before volunteering me to handle important school projects? Am I being too sensitive to expect the courtesy of an email when she tells her kids I will do something for them? (I am not a fan of telling kids anything that is not set in stone or at least minimally arranged)

Also, this is the first time the ex has directly involved me in anything....

ugh. Advice please...

Anne 8102's picture