You are here

big stepdaughter mess. I'm new to it all and going crazy!

allisonsmommy's picture

Okay let me start by saying I am new to the forums.

Here is our situation. I have known my husband since we were in college. We were only friends the first 1 1/2 we knew one another though. My husband went to a military university and he was a virgin so some girl at my school hooked him up with a friend of hers. He got drunk at a party and lost his virginity to this nasty chick. She came to him 2 months later and said she was pregnant. Obviously after the baby was born he did a paternity test and he is indeed the father.

My husbands family is VERY old fashioned southern so while they supported their son they didn't want ANY family at all to know about it. It was kept total quiet. My DH met the baby once or twice and then became an officer in the army. we started dating after the baby was born and I of course was aware of all that was going on. My husband was ashamed. didn't want any part of the baby other than paying child support, etc. he was also very young and naive.

Fast forward a few years and he and I are married and have a baby girl of our own (she is 3 years old). We found out the mother of his other daughter had gotten married and had two kids with the new husband. Basically that guy ended up being very violent after an iraq deployment and she had to leave him. So now she has 3 kids. My husband decided he needed/wanted to be a part of this childs life and i FULLY supported that idea. In fact i had pushed him for years to do that and he didn't do anything. He has done 3 tours to iraq, been shot at, and had a baby girl with me and i think all those things factored in to wanting to be a part of his other daughters life. So we visited them and it was great! this was 2 years ago. Now we are stationed an hour from her and her mother and we finally in all these years have partial custody (every weekend). This step daughter is 8 years old now.