You are here

Meeting the kids for the first time - so so so nervous - help!!

taffycat's picture

Hello everyone

I am writing you all the way from South Africa and is stressed out of my mind!!!!!
I am a newbie Stepmom or if everything goes well, will be a newbie Stepmom and I have so many questions and worries.
I am 36, never been married, no kids. My boyfriend, age 36 divorced with three girls twins age 4 and a 7 year old living with him. (We dated for 6 years in our twenties).

In short, we have been dating for about 4 months, he lives 9hours away so I don't see him often, about 7days a month if we meet halfway, he leaves the kids with their mom for a weekend and we spend time together. We didnt' want me to meet the kids until we were both sure. We are committed and sure so the next step is the kids.

Ok now I am frrrrrrrrreaking out. I am an only child, I don't really like kids (lol), I am used to being the only person in my boyfriends life and getting all the attention. I don't really know how to be around kids or how to act, what to say etc. I am more than prepared to try and I more than understand that the road ahead is going to be long and at times very very hard. I love him, we have always loved each other and his ex wife is accepting me and even said he never got over me and she knew it all the while they were married (we never spoke or met up in the 8years of their marriage so there was no affair).

Anyway I have all these questions on meeting the kids. Should I meet them now and if so, where is the best place? What should my bf tell them beforehand? He wants me to go to his for a week but it would mean I have to stay with thim in their house, where do I sleep?
I don't want to upset the kids and I dont expect them to accept me immediately, same said for me, but I do want to go into this as prepared as I can be for everyones sake.