You are here

An Intro / My BM Battle Story

Here Comes Treble's picture

This is my first time posting, so I guess this is an intro and first rant.

My fiancé and I met in late 2015. We hit it off very quickly and I moved three hours away from my hometown to live with him. SD expressed reservations when he first broke the news I would be moving in, saying something about it being like one of those evil step-mother Disney movies. In the first year or so, there was jealousy and a competitive spirit between us; but it has begun to improve. A little.

We've hit a few snags with the BM. I'll detail the most profound ones below:

The summer before my fiancé and I even met, he allowed his ex-wife to move in for a few months. He says this was because she was pregnant and leaving an abusive relationship with a "druggie". He shared this early on in our relationship, but I brushed it off as a respectful full-disclosure from him and something inconsequential in his past.

When he announced I was moving in, the ex-wife/BM was upset and cried. I chalked it up to remorse, which some of it probably was. (They divorced because she had an affair.) Still, the BM and I started off respectfully – even having coffee together a few times.