You are here

Why can't adults just treat each other with respect?

Anon2009's picture

That's what I wonder about these situations. Yes, it is ok to feel resentment. Yes, it is ok to feel jealousy. Yes, it is ok to feel sad. Yes, it is ok to not like these situations. But why can't adult sks (and some SPs) just treat each other respectfully regardless of wealth, age difference, etc.? That'd make things much better for everyone. Dad would get to see his kids more. Kids would get to see dad more. It never killed anyone to not bash someone else or to play nice for a few hours.

sandye21's picture

Sounds so simple but egos, entitlement, possessiveness and narcissism seem to get in the way.

LadyG's picture

You forgot pretentiousness, a-holism, dysfunction, mental disorders, insecurity and most of all, control freaks.

Very frustrated's picture

I've been saying the same thing for almost 20 years. My husbands two kids won't even acknowledge us and I think it's all because they've never liked the idea of their parents divorcing. Just guessing that's it but it's been ongoing since our marriage over 20 years ago. And they're 44 and 48 years old! What's so hard about playing nice for a couple of hours maybe 3-4 times a year? I don't get it.

emotionaly beat up's picture