You are here

How do you cope with the amount of money going to the EX?

Dashin20's picture

I was interested in knowing how some of you handled the majority of your husbands income going to their ex?

My husband is in the military and through all of the court battles with his ex, she has been awarded the majority of his pay, including housing allowances. She is getting substantial child support, health insurance, life insurance, half of uncovered healthcare expenses, and half of extra-curricular activity costs. Not to mention, she was awarded attorney's fees that we are STILL paying on, on top of our own.

I have a pretty decent job, so it is not like I am not contributing. Despite my help, I have had to move back in with my parents while my husband lives on base, away from his family, just so we are not struggling every month. All thanks to the amount of money and benefits the BM gets for their daughter. I am a college graduate with a Finance degree, I am employed, I raise a 4 year old boy, and am pregnant with my second child. I also attend law school 2 nights a week so that I can further my education.

The BM has a GED, no plans of going back to school, works a very mediocre call center job, and has never moved out of her mother's house. Needless to say, she has negative responsibilities. Also, she has no 'earning potential' to be held to, unlike my husband who is a college educated, able-bodied male in his twenties.