You are here

Boundaries are elusive...

SAHsigh's picture

Clearly, I'm new at this...

I realize I'm making rookie mistakes but I haven't the faintest idea on how to proceed. I recently became the SM of twin toddlers. Yes, twins... a boy and a girl. I have no children of my own. My own parents divorced and remarried -- as a result, I am the oldest of six children within a blended family.

Since I was raised in a blended family, I had some insights on what I could expect. Before even combining our households, DH and I spoke at great lengths about his divorce, the changing relationship with the BM, how that was impacting his children, where I would fit into this, etc. I tried to start this with an eye on a strong foundation, but not surprisingly, some aspects of starting a family are never predictable.

We are all learning how to live with each other. There have been plenty of moments of exasperation but we address each of them as they arise and none have gotten out of hand. The SCs and I get along great and when they do test their limits (as I would expect toddlers to do!), we act together to curb bad behavior. To respect the co-parenting arrangements with their BM, we have agreed that any discipline beyond time-out measures will be handled by him. All parties (including the BM) seem to be happy with these arrangements.

I enjoy the time I get to spend with them but peripheral issues are starting to get troublesome. I have tried to be careful about boundaries -- parenting limits, household chores, contact with BM, expenses, transportation, etc. But it seems like as soon as I vocalize where the boundaries for me are, they are promptly tested.